Bujinkan History

The style taught at Seiren Dojo is Bujinkan Budo Ninpo Taijutsu. The current headmaster of the Bujinkan is Dr. Hatsumi Masaaki, who resides and teaches in Noda City, Japan. Dr. Hatsumi has been given wide accolades for his contributions to the preservation and continuation of traditional ninjutsu in Japan and abroad

Many ryuha (schools or transmissions) of Japanese martial arts pass down through generational headmasters called soke. The transmission of a ryuha often remained within a single family, and in some cases, the age of a ryuha can be many centuries old. In the early to mid 20th century, the stewardship of nine independent ryuha, passed to a well-respected martial artist named Takamatsu Toshitsugu. Each of the nine schools contains separate and distinct sets of kata (forms) and heiho (strategic characteristics).

Takamatsu-sensei’s foremost student was Dr. Hatsumi, to whom he conferred the title of soke for these nine traditions. Upon Takamatsu-sensei’s death in 1972, Dr. Hatsumi consolidated these nine historical pedigrees into what is now known as the Bujinkan.

Though the densho (curriculum or doctrine) of the Bujinkan was formed from the essences of these nine separate historical pedigrees, training opportunities in the original schools of the Bujinkan remain for advanced students, after a proper foundation of kihon (basic techniques) is laid.
The main categories of basics include:

taihenjutsu (body movement)
jutaijutsu (grappling)
dakentaijutsu (striking)
kobudo (ancient weapons)
goshinjutsu (self-defense applications)

In addition, training in philosophy, psychological and meditative disciplines, strategy and history are also integrated with the physical training program.

For more information, please contact the dojo.

Kyudo History

Kyudo is the modern study of Japanese archery.Though one of the oldest bugei (martial arts) of Japan, the practice of kyudo is more than just the “loosing of an arrow”. Kyudo is a highly-formalized and internal expression of physical, mental and spiritual unity. It is a discipline which the practitioner develops and demonstrates concentration, reflection and composure.



Grandmaster Masaaki Hatsumi

Takamatsu Toshitsugu

Takamatsu & Hatsumi Training